How does Ida compare with primates living today?

There are two branches of primates: strepsirrhines and haplorhines. The strepsirrhines are also called “premonkeys” or “protomonkeys” (although this systematic terminology is on its way out). The strepsirrhine primates living today is mainly comprised of the lemurs, who are found on madagascar, and the Xxlories, found in Africa and Asia.

The haplorhine primates includes tarsiers, monkeys and apes, including ourselves. As we all know, humans have spread to most areas on Earth. The other haplorhine primates are mostly found in tropical and subtropical areas of Africa, Asia, and South and Central America.

They have much in common, but differ in some traits:


The eye is surrounded by a simple ring of bone The eye socket is closed in the back
Has a wet nose (rhinarium) Has a dry, furry nose
Has a dental comb and a grooming claw Has spatulate front teeth

Primates tree

Primates tree

Published June 23, 2010 1:02 PM - Last modified Feb. 26, 2019 2:35 AM